top of page
Our History

The Ohio County Water District (OCWD) was created on April 2, 1962 and operates under the provisions of Chapter 74 of the Kentucky Revised Statutes. OCWD is regulated by the Kentucky Public Service Commission (PSC) and the Department for Environmental Protection, Division of Water. OCWD has the authority to plan, design, finance, construct, operate, replace and maintain water distribution facilities in its service area. The District’s boundary lines are the Green River to the south and west, Daviess, and Hancock Counties to the north, and Breckinridge, Grayson and Butler Counties to the east.

OCWD has an unlimited source of water from the Green River. Additionally, the OCWD received approval from the PSC to assume ownership of Rough River Water System, Inc. in 1997.

bottom of page